Coverart for item
The Resource The Sweetest Dark

The Sweetest Dark

Label
The Sweetest Dark
Title
The Sweetest Dark
Statement of responsibility
Shana Abé
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time. "With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I'd have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I'd ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach." Lora Jones has always known that she's different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora's been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she's far more than what she seems. England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England's southern coast. Iverson's eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny. Jesse is the school's groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she's only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves. Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.Praise for The Sweetest Dark "A wonderfully refreshing story of self-discovery, love, courage—and dragons . . . I was enchanted."—Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Lovely "Abé creates a rich and refreshing world."—RT Book Reviews (four stars) "Abe's writing is both elegant and beautiful . . . The Sweetest Dark is the perfect fantasy read."—Badass Book Reviews "Strong and spellbinding."—Genre Go Round ReviewsFrom the Hardcover edition
Member of
Summary
Chosen to be a charity student at a boarding school in World War I England, sixteen-year-old Lora discovers her long latent magical powers just in time to battle an evil bent on decimating the school
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10178166
Cataloging source
DLC
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 7
  • 9
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/related_authorities
  • -HTdmzNDZHo
  • -HTdmzNDZHo
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Sweetest dark series
Series volume
0001
Target audience
adolescent
Label
The Sweetest Dark
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:8a135a17-7059-4779-98eb-5e9fd293c910
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780345531711
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
The Sweetest Dark
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:8a135a17-7059-4779-98eb-5e9fd293c910
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780345531711
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Effie and Wilton Hebert Public LibraryBorrow it
      2025 Merriman St., Port Neches, TX, 77651, US
      29.981813 -93.955245
Processing Feedback ...