Coverart for item
The Resource A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka

A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka

Label
A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka
Title
A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka
Statement of responsibility
Lev Golinkin
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"[A] hilarious and heartbreaking story of a Jewish family's escape from oppression."—The New York TimesA compelling story of two intertwined journeys: a Jewish refugee family fleeing persecution and a young man seeking to reclaim a shattered past. In the twilight of the Cold War (the late 1980s), nine-year old Lev Golinkin and his family cross the Soviet border with only ten suitcases, $600, and the vague promise of help awaiting in Vienna. Years later, Lev, now an American adult, sets out to retrace his family's long trek, locate the strangers who fought for his freedom, and in the process, gain a future by understanding his past.Lev Golinkin's memoir is the vivid, darkly comic, and poignant story of a young boy in the confusing and often chilling final decade of the Soviet Union. It's also the story of Lev Golinkin, the American man who finally confronts his buried past by returning to Austria and Eastern Europe to track down the strangers who made his escape possible . . . and say thank you. Written with biting, acerbic wit and emotional honesty in the vein of Gary Shteyngart, Jonathan Safran Foer, and David Bezmozgis, Golinkin's search for personal identity set against the relentless currents of history is more than a memoir—it's a portrait of a lost era. This is a thrilling tale of escape and survival, a deeply personal look at the life of a Jewish child caught in the last gasp of the Soviet Union, and a provocative investigation into the power of hatred and the search for belonging. Lev Golinkin achieves an amazing feat—and it marks the debut of a fiercely intelligent, defiant, and unforgettable new voice.From the Hardcover edition
Summary
A compelling story of two intertwined journeys: a Jewish refugee family fleeing persecution and a young man seeking to reclaim a shattered past. In the twilight of the Cold War (the late 1980s), nine-year old Lev Golinkin and his family cross the Soviet border with only ten suitcases, $600, and the vague promise of help awaiting in Vienna. Years later, Lev, now an American adult, sets out to retrace his family's long trek, locate the strangers who fought for his freedom, and in the process, gain a future by understanding his past
Tone
Writing style
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10376945
Cataloging source
ICU/DLC
Dewey number
  • 947.004924092
  • 920
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:909db103-9b75-4451-bd44-17fd7945dc2f
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780385537780
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:909db103-9b75-4451-bd44-17fd7945dc2f
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780385537780
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Effie and Wilton Hebert Public LibraryBorrow it
      2025 Merriman St., Port Neches, TX, 77651, US
      29.981813 -93.955245
Processing Feedback ...